The Height of Absurdity: The Wager 1.4

26 January, 2016 by katelaity

The Height of Absurdity 1Nolan piped up. ‘For one thing, you’re not married.’ Much mumbled grumbling followed as the others brought up their obligations on that regard with much evident relief.

‘I am not without obligations,’ I protested, a bit nettled that marriage and children seemed to be the only acceptable tasks to disqualify one from the position.

‘Yes, but you have always said that you can write anywhere,’ Brien said with a smug air of victory. ‘You can send dispatches to your editors from anywhere. It’s not like we’re living in the 18th century after all.’

I had to admit to the truth of his claim, as I had often used the dodge myself to say I was working whenever I was of a mind to do so. Truth to tell, it was possible for me to work anywhere I had nib, ink and paper. I just disliked being railroaded, as it were, into the role of a referee of sorts for a gentleman (or lady on some days). ‘What do you say, Popkin?’

Tansy smiled and with remarkable aplomb said, ‘I should be glad of the company.’

‘Then I agree to go as your companion.’ I shot a look at Brien to let him see that I was only agreeable to that.

He continued to smirk at me however, so I was glad when Tansy said, ‘Now let us make haste and prepare for the journey. We have much to do.’

And so the year began with a wager, a new friendship and a plan of action.

[Apologies for the brevity of the offering: new chapter begins next week!]

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,639 other followers




Archives

