Warning Labels for Romance?

7 July, 2011 by katelaity

I’m blogging over at Authors After Dark on a weird news story I read this morning:

I’m still trying to wrap my head around the news story I read this morning in the Guardian with the provocative headline, “Mills & Boon blamed for sexual health problems.

Wha?! Yeah, that’s right:

Blaming romance novels for unprotected sex, unwanted pregnancies, unrealistic sexual expectations and relationship breakdowns, author and psychologist Susan Quilliam says that “what we see in our consulting rooms is more likely to be informed by Mills & Boon than by the Family Planning Association”, advising readers of the Journal of Family Planning and Reproductive Health Care that “sometimes the kindest and wisest thing we can do for our clients is to encourage them to put down the books – and pick up reality”.

Okay, it’s really just another attempt to slam women who read and write romance…
Read the rest over at AAD — I look forward to seeing everyone there in August. I hope to have print copies of The Mangrove Legacy with me (fingers crossed) so it may be the first place they’re available!
»

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,639 other followers




Archives

